Get ready

Tickets on sale now

learn more


Seeded players announced

Friday 04 August 2017

Scotland’s Kirsty Gilmour was today named as 16th seed when the week-long TOTAL BWF World Championships 2017 gets under way at Glasgow’s Emirates Arena on Monday, August 21.

Gilmour is the only Scot seeded across the five events but she was named as the final seed in the women’s singles after her recent performances in reaching the Yonex Canada Open final and the Yonex US Open semi-final lifted her back into the world’s top 30.

She is one of only three European players seeded in women's singles,  Olympic and two-time defending champion Carolina Marin is at No. 3 and her Spanish team-mate Beatriz Corrales at No. 15.

Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi is the top seed while Thailand’s 2013 world champion Ratchanok Intanon is No. 8.

England’s new European champion and 2008 and 2011 Scottish Open winner Rajiv Ouseph is also 16th seed in the men’s singles, where Korean Son Wan Ho is top seed with Malaysia’s Lee Chong Wei at No.2.

China’s Olympic and two-time defending champion Chen Long is No.5 and his team-mate, five-times champion Lin Dan is No. 7. China also have Shi Yuqi at No. 4 and Tian Houwei at No.10.

Apart from Ouseph, Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen, at No. 3, and 2016 Scottish Open winner Anders Antonsen at No. 14, are the only Europeans seeded in the men’s event.

England’s European mixed doubles champions Chris and Gabby Adcock are No.5 seeds in the mixed doubles behind China’s top seeds Zheng Siwei and Chen Qingchen.

Denmark’s Joachim Fischer Nielsen and Christinna Pedersen are at No.6 and their team-mates Mathias Christiansen and Sara Thygesen at No. 14 are the only other European pairs seeded.

Indonesia’s 2013 world champions Tontowi Ahmad and Liliyana Natsir are No. 3 seeds. They are the only pair in the three doubles events to have previously won a world title.

GB’s Olympic bronze medallists Chris Langridge and Marcus Ellis are No. 14 seeds in the men’s doubles with China’s Li Junhui and Liu Yuchen at No.1 and Denmark’s Carsten Mogensen and Mathias Boe at No.2.

Their team-mates Mads Conrad-Petersen and Mads Pieler Kolding, the 2009 and 2013 Scottish Open champions, are the No.7 seeds.

Denmark, in fact, have four pairs seeded with Kim Astrup and Anders Skaarup Rasmussen at No. 12 and Mathias Christiansen and David Daugaard, the 2014 and 2016 Scottish Open winners, at No. 16.

Russia’s 2016 Yonex All England champions Vladimir Ivanov and Ivan Sozonov, who won the Scottish Open in 2011, complete Europe’s seeded pairs at No. 10 so there are plenty of top pairs competing who are already well known to Scotland fans.

In the women’s doubles Japan’s Olympic champions Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi are the pair to beat while Rio silver medallists Kamilla Rytter Juhl and Christinna Pedersen are second seeds.

Bulgaria’s 2014 Scottish Open winners Gabriela and Stefani Stoeva are No. 11 seeds and Denmark’s second pair of Malken Fruergaard and Sara Thygesen are at No.15.

A listed of all seeded entries can be downloaded here from the BWF official webiste.

For more information on the male players, click here.

For more information on the female players, click here.

The draw will take place at BWF headquarters in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday.

The TOTAL BWF Badminton World Championships 2017 will be staged at Glasgow’s Emirates Arena from 21-27 August. Tickets are avilable here.


Back to News listing


Find out what other badminton events are coming soon to Glasgow!


The fastest racquet sport in the world took over the Emirates Arena, Glasgow for 7 days in August 2017! 


Internationally renowned for the friendliness of its welcome, Glasgow has been named a must see city. 


Register now for all the latest news and offers

To subscribe to our list you must agree to the terms and conditions.